Public Engagement

To help develop the recommendations of the study, a series of public engagement activities, including stakeholders’ interviews, public opinion surveys and engagement workshops were conducted at various stages of the study to gather and generate ideas on options to enhance the potential for recreation and nature education in the country parks and special areas of Hong Kong.

Interviews with Stakeholders

63 key stakeholders were interviewed between May and August 2017. They came from a wide range of sectors, including hiking and outdoor recreation associations, the eco-tourism sector, academia, relevant non-governmental organisations, green groups, youth groups, professional bodies and cultural and heritage organisations (Annex B).

Many respondents placed utmost importance on education to encourage appropriate visitor attitudes and sustainable behaviour towards appreciating and respecting nature. Major comments such as providing a comprehensive information platform (e.g. a “one-stop” information centre) and promoting conservation of biodiversity and landscape were raised by many respondents at the interviews.

Whilst there was some diverse views expressed by stakeholders, many common concerns were repeatedly voiced out. All respondents generally advocated that protection of the natural environment within the country parks and special areas should be prioritised over recreational or educational uses. Other comments raised include strengthening the promotion of conservation and enhancing the existing facilities to improve user experience. All respondents recognised the need for greater resources to be committed to the country parks, and in particular, increased staffing to optimise future use of the country parks.


DSC_9005.jpg

Public Opinion Survey

Public opinion surveys were conducted in November and December 2017 at representative locations in urban areas as well as country parks to collect views of the general public and country park users respectively on the preliminary options identified in the earlier stage of the study. More than 2 000 valid questionnaires were collected. The respondents indicated their preferences on the preliminary options across four broad categories, namely overnight facilities, adventurous activities, leisure and educational activities, as well as other ancillary facilities.

The survey respondents of the public survey are generally supportive of the enhancement options and have chosen their preferred options in the four categories. These activities and facilities are listed in the table at the right.

table.JPG

IMG_4244.jpg

Engagement Workshops

Key stakeholders were invited to attend two engagement workshops in March 2018. The aims of the workshops were to share the results of the opinion survey and solicit further views and comments of the participants on the preliminary options. The stakeholders at the workshops generally agreed to most of the preliminary options and raised concerns and suggestions from a practical perspective. For instance, they were concerned about the newly proposed activities such as glamping sites at country parks and special areas, as well as the feasibility of grass sliding and canopy walk. Views gathered at the workshops were useful in shortlisting enhancement proposals which could be adopted under the Hong Kong context. Nevertheless, all attendees generally advocated that any options proposed should not compromise the conservation objectives of the country parks and special areas. They also suggested that more financial resources and manpower should be provided for improved management of the parks.

與持份者會面

顧問團隊於2017年5至8月期間與63名主要持份者進行會面。他們來自多個不同界別,包括遠足及戶外康樂協會、生態旅遊業界、學術界、相關非政府機構、環保團體、青年團體、專業團體,以及文化和文物關注團體(見附錄(二))。

不少受訪者認為教育至為重要,以鼓勵郊遊人士對於欣賞及尊重大自然抱持適當的態度,並作有助可持續發展的行為。會面中,眾多受訪者主要提出的意見包括提供全面資訊平台(例如「一站式」資訊中心),以及推廣生物多樣性和保育景觀。

雖然持份者所表達的意見略有不同,但他們亦不約而同提出了很多共同關注的事宜。受訪者普遍認為在郊野公園及特別地區內,對保護自然環境的考慮應較康樂或教育用途優先。其他意見包括加強推廣保育及優化現有設施,讓使用者有更豐富的體驗。所有受訪者都認同有需要為郊野公園投放更多資源,特別是增加人手,以期將來可更加善用郊野公園作不同用途。


DSC_9005.jpg

公眾意見調查

顧問團隊於2017年11至12月期間,在市區及各郊野公園具代表性的地點進行公眾意見調查,分別收集市民大眾和郊野公園使用者對在研究初期所選定的初步方案的意見,合共收回超過2 000份有效問卷。受訪者就過夜設施、歷奇活動、休閒╱教育活動,以及其他配套設施這四大範疇所建議的初步方案,表達他們的意向。

公眾意見調查的受訪者普遍支持各初步方案,並在四大範疇中選擇他們的取向。有關活動及設施載列於右表。


IMG_4244.jpg

持份者工作坊

主要持份者於2018年3月獲邀出席兩個參與工作坊。舉辦工作坊旨在分享意見調查的結果,並進一步收集參加者對初步方案的意見。出席工作坊的持份者普遍同意大部分初步方案,並從實際角度提出關注事項及建議。舉例來說,他們關注新建議的活動(例如在郊野公園及特別地區設置升級露營地點,以及滑草或樹頂走廊)的可行性。在工作坊收集所得的意見,有助篩選適用於香港的方案。不過,所有出席人士一致認為,任何建議的方案絕不能損害郊野公園及特別地區的保育目標。他們並建議應提供更多財政資源及人力,以改善各公園的管理。