Study Background

Country parks and special areas are designated under the Country Parks Ordinance (Cap. 208) for nature conservation, countryside recreation and outdoor education. Located at the fringe of our urban areas, country parks and special areas not only conserve our scenic nature, but provides for outdoor recreational activities such as hiking, camping and barbecuing. They also play a pivotal role in promoting conservation education and nature appreciation to the general public.

With a view to broadening and diversifying visitor experience, as well as meeting growing demands for countryside recreation, the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD) commissioned a consultancy study to explore and identify opportunities for enhancing the recreation potential of country parks and special areas in January 2017. The study aims to develop measures to strengthen the functions of country parks and special areas while striking a balance between nature conservation and promotion of outdoor recreational activities and nature educational programmes, thus contributing to mainstreaming biodiversity and environmental sustainability in our community.

The study seeks to formulate and recommend sustainable proposals for enhancing and extending the functions of country parks and special areas, while optimising the potential of their existing resources.

See Annex A for details of country parks and special areas (Annex A)

IMG_0116.JPG

The study is conducted in four stages and attaches great importance to collecting public views through public engagement activities. Stakeholders’ interviews, public opinion survey, engagement workshops and public forums form the important parts of the study process to help develop the proposals. The four stages of the study process are:

0842.JPG
4 stages(eng).JPG

香港根據《郊野公園條例》(第208章)闢設多個郊野公園及特別地區,藉以保護大自然,並向市民提供郊野康樂和戶外教育設施。郊野公園及特別地區位於市區邊緣,不單保育自然美景,也為郊遊人士提供各類戶外康樂活動(例如遠足、露營和燒烤)的場地。在向公眾推廣保育教育和欣賞大自然方面,郊野公園及特別地區亦擔當着關鍵的角色。

為了讓郊遊人士有更豐富多樣的體驗,以及滿足公眾對郊野康樂活動日漸增加的需求,漁農自然護理署(漁護署)於2017年1月委託顧問進行研究,探求如何提升郊野公園及特別地區的康樂及教育潛力。是項研究旨在制訂措施,加強郊野公園及特別地區的功能,同時又在自然保育與推廣戶外康樂活動和自然教育活動之間爭取平衡,從而促進生物多樣性主流化及環境的可持續發展。

是項研究旨在擬訂和提出可持續發展的方案,以加強並擴大郊野公園及特別地區的功能,同時亦希望能盡量發揮郊野公園及特別地區現有資源的潛力。

郊野公園及特別地區詳情載於附錄(一)

IMG_0116.JPG

是項研究分四個階段進行,並透過公眾參與活動,收集市民的意見。與持份者會面、公眾意見調查、持份者工作坊及公眾論壇是研究過程中的重要環節,有助制訂有關的建議方案。是項研究過程的四個階段為:

0842.JPG
4 stages.JPG